Skip to content

A Little Background to put this all in context

August 15, 2009

The surest cure for boredom is a project and the best way to lose weight is to eat right and exercise. I hope to somewhat prove these axioms in the coming months.  I have willingly embarked upon a self imposed, not for health reasons, merely to see if I can do it, arbitrarily chosen 3 months of veganism.  Not just any veganism either.  The particular brand of veganism espoused by the book Skinny Bitch by Rory Freedman and Kim Barnouin. I admit, I saw the book in the store with its glamorous cartoon of a woman about town on the cover.  I had thought, mistakenly as it turns out, that it was a novel in the vein of The Devil Wears Prada.  It turns out it’s a diet book – a diet book that caters to the notion that health isn’t why we go on diets – it’s primarily to look good – to be skinny. I concur!

Veganism is, essentially, eating nothing that comes from an animal.  In its most strict form this would even involve alcohol since there is yeast involved.  Flashback to Science class – yeast is actually alive, remember?  Now while, Skinny Bitch doesn’t (thank god) require one go totally off the sauce, it is a vegan diet with the added displeasure of being white flour and sugar free.

Why would a self proclaimed meat lover and wearer attempt such a thing? Because a friend of mine went on it and lost 30 pounds and I need something to take up my time while I prepare to move across the ocean for love.  It would also be nice to lighten the transatlantic load – you know, for fuel economy and all.  

Cutting out my holy trinity of Dairy, Meat and Sugar is going to be difficult – but I am giving it a try.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

