Skip to content

Diary – Day 4

August 19, 2009

At 3 pm daily I get the urge for a snack.  A healthy snack will do, but what I really want today is chocolate.  I considered getting some baking chocolate from the grocery store (unsweetened) and then eating it with a banana or something for sweetness.  This is a dumb idea.  I decide on a tall glass of water, with ice….exciting.

Creamy Lindt chocolate is what I would like, something that melts easily, that practically doesn’t exist, a piece of creamy bliss.  I want the whole bar though, not just a piece.

I must have WILLPOWER.

This word echos in my head, the word my mother always chanted as she unwrapped only the Special Dark Hershey’s Miniatures and discarded the other, inferior, mini candy choices.  Mom was always talking about willpower, which you either had or you hadn’t depending upon what deliciousness was offered.  If it was a chocolate cake with fudge icing or a brownie she would exclaim, “I can’t help it, I just don’t have any willpower!”  If I wanted chocolate cake or a brownie she would say, “You just have to have willpower!” as if she were the authority.

This water tastes a bit like chocolate now – a taste memory comes in handy in such a time.

I will keep busy and try to quash the chocolate craving while I still have this tenuous concept of willpower in my head.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Dutch Treat permalink
    August 19, 2009 4:04 pm

    Kristenvolt ? – You aren’t suggesting you’ll run 200 miles per gallon on soymilk, are you?

    >> The funniest of these lately are the glad tidings from (“The New” ) General Motors. They came out last week with a laughable hype-fest for their proposed electric car, the “Volt,” scheduled to arrive in the showrooms around 2011 (about the same time that all the mortgage-backed-securities sitting in Wall Street’s vaults melt into a monumental puddle of radioactive goo). We’re told the Volt will get the equivalent of over 200 miles-per-gallon, at less than 25 cents a charge from the plug on your garage wall, blah blah. They estimate that it’ll cost about $40,000. Do we detect a little problem right there? <<

    • kristenvolt permalink*
      August 20, 2009 6:06 am

      I saw this ad campaign and I assure you the name Volt was mine long before Chevy usurped it for its cool factor. It’s a great last name but I doubt strongly Chevy and my ability to run 200 miles per gallon on anything.

  2. August 20, 2009 3:25 am

    Ms. Volt, I’ve been following your blog with great interest. Would it be appreciated if your struggling down South would be mentioned and recommended to the Dutch twittering society?

    Keep up the good work!
    love,
    E

    • kristenvolt permalink*
      August 20, 2009 6:06 am

      Thanks E, that would be great!

Leave a Reply

