Skip to content

..and on the 7th day she baked

August 22, 2009

I’ve made it 7 days without one morsel of animal derived goods, sugar or white flour.

I celebrated by experimenting in the kitchen, but not completely with vegan recipes. I decided to make vegan food alongside decidedly non tonight.

My neighbors several doors down just had their first child, a boy they (unfortunately) named Cameron. They deserved cupcakes and I was dying to make some. Instead of that southern staple of deliciousness – the Red Velvet Cake, I would make Blue Velvet Cupcakes and hope no oxygen mask would be required if I hyperventilated on powdered sugar fumes.

While the cakes were baking I would also make sauteed Japanese baby eggplant with garlic, tomatoes and fresh lady peas.

I can only speak to the vegan dish as I did not partake of the cupcakes – for all I know they could have been disgusting. I added too much food coloring to the batter so instead of the delicate blue I had envisioned the cakes, with their cream cheese frosted tops, appeared as if they were made of ground up Smurfs. I could hear their screams when I conjured up the false repressed memory of their actual construction – Handy screamed the most and Lazy took the food mill in stride. Not exactly appetizing, but I’m not overly fond of the neighbors so I brought them over anyway.

The eggplant though was wonderful – Japanese eggplants, the baby kind, have a sort of silky sugar quality when cooked. They sort of caramelize in the cooking much like an onion does.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

