Skip to content

They live among us, undetected

August 31, 2009

I believe that from the tone of my posts you can tell that I have sort of an inherrant distrust for hippies and, likewise, for vegetarians and especially what I perceive as the more militant branch of vegetarianism – the Vegans.  The image that comes to mind for me when I think vegetarian or vegan is a sort of an anti-establishment, holier than thou attitude about their lifestyle and politics. I think communes or college, Grateful Dead or Phish and Che Guevara all around.  In short, nonsense.

This is why I am constantly surprised when I find out there are vegetarians among us – masquerading as normal members of society.  Sometimes the people you least expect are vegetarians.

For example, my boss seems to me to be the epitome of a sucessful Southern guy.  He seems fairly conservative, he wears tasseled loafers, he has several smiley happy children in private schools and a lovely blonde wife.  They seem normal.  It turns out his wife is a former vegan, current vegetarian.  What?

I found out this tidbit last weeke when one of my coworkers was blahing to me about something related to my afternoon snack.  It was sweet potato puree with apples rolled up in a flax tortilla.  My boss was around the corner and I felt he needed to tell me something or give me some work and I was trying to wrap up the conversation with coworker because of this.  I felt self conscious for speaking so much about this snack and said, flippantly, “I became a vegan 10 days ago and it’s caused quite a hubbub around here [insert self deprecating/self concious laugh here.” After which he calmly told me his wife’s a vegan, or used to be, now she’s a vegetarian, but that she was a vegan for years.

I suppose I am shocked only because I still hold to my preconceived notions of what a vegetable eater is supposed to be, do, think, say.

Maybe it’s just food and not necessarily always a socially and environmentally based big deal.

One Comment leave one →
  1. August 31, 2009 7:06 pm

    Reminds me of a poignant statement I once encountered on the internet:
    “You can’t think I fought myself up all the way to the top of the food chain to become a vegetarian!”
    Those who are must be aliens, plain and simple.

Leave a Reply

