Skip to content

Refrigerator

November 10, 2009

For the sake of those who are unaware, I love food and I love to organize. Therefore it has always brought me immense pleasure to keep my refrigerator tidy and few things are as pleasing or fulfilling than cleaning out my refrigerator and organizing same.

The first thing I do when I enter the house is check the refrigerator, if I know you well I will check yours too. It’s just something that fascinates me – not necessarily because I am hungry, but because I like to see what’s in there. It’s a glimpse of your attitude on food and quite possibly a window to your soul.

Your refrigerator tells me what you like to eat and how you like to eat it. Do you have a ton of take out containers? A vast array of condiments? Do you have hidden moldy tidbits in the back? I take great care to keep my refrigerator free of anything older than a few days. The condiments are thrown out regularly, unless they have great packaging and then I will make a mental note to keep and not use. In fact, my refrigerator is always so clean and organized that I have used it for further organizational purposes. I keep my passport in the butter drawer and important papers in the crisper. My night cream and facial spritz are nicer cold. I keep my fancy jeans in the freezer overnight because I read an article that you shouldn’t wash them for several wearings and the freezer will rejuvenate them.

The refrigerator is my go to for all things important in my life and on Sunday it was carted away to its new owner. Not surprisingly, despite the fact I have been prepared and/or preparing for my overseas move for some time, the loss of the refrigerator has hit me the hardest. My stainless friend is gone, an empty spot where it used to live reminds me that in 20 days I leave the Dirty South for Clogidonia.

It’s oddly liberating this fresh start.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. November 10, 2009 6:11 pm

    “Clogidonia!” Now, watch your tongue, or we may make an arrangement with Black Pete to put you into his gunny bag and take you away to Spain in the dark hold of Santa’s old steamer.

  2. kristenvolt permalink*
    November 10, 2009 6:42 pm

    Clogidonia – Redacted!

  3. November 11, 2009 1:04 am

    I think “Clogidonia” is a perfect name for this land below sea-level we call home (until God punishes us with floods). You can come and organize our fridge anytime. In fact I expect to be cooking or baking with you enough that you will get your own shelf, at the very least. Just know you will never be without.

  4. December 13, 2009 11:06 pm

    Absolutely love reading your musings. Particularly this bit about your frigidaire. My theory is that the magnets on a persons fridge can unmask the psyche of the person posessing it. But stuff inside works too. I have a jar of porcelin baby arms and legs in mine. Please dont alert the FBI.

Leave a Reply

