Skip to content

How soon is now?

November 13, 2009

 

17 more days, unless you already count this day as one down.  In which case then it’s 16 days which is just two short of 14 so I may as well just call it two weeks.

A fortnight.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. November 13, 2009 6:33 pm

    Actually, this was the first picture I saw of you. I labeled it ‘A Perfect Day at the Races’.

    • kristenvolt permalink*
      November 13, 2009 6:41 pm

      I love this picture.

  2. November 14, 2009 7:02 pm

    Today, Sinterklaas arrived in the Netherlands by ‘stoomboot’ [steamer], at the town of Schiedam. Have a look:
    http://player.omroep.nl/?aflID=10312136
    and skip, if you like, the first 5 or 10 minutes of the introduction. The lady at the old harbor is Schiedam’s ‘burgemeester’ [mayor].
    Tomorrow the Sint and his merry ‘zwartepieten’ will make their entry in Amsterdam and from then on, every Dutch child will put his/her little shoe at the fireplace and sing a little song. In the morning they will find a small surprise in their shoe.

    • kristenvolt permalink*
      November 14, 2009 7:34 pm

      I could not see that link for some reason, but I *have* spent the last half hour on youtube finding songs. I have the melody down for Kapoentje and I think the pronounciation is coming along. I actually think singing helps my pronounciation – maybe.

  3. November 15, 2009 6:28 am

    I suppose the link is restricted to Dutch or EU views.
    But this idea of yours to “Von Trapp” your way into Dutch idiom may be a very good one! Kapoentje is a very short song, so I found you some more where the song texts are shown synchonically:
    Zie ginds komt de stoomboot [See yon comes the steamer]

    Zie de maan schijnt door de bomen [See the moon shine through the trees]

    and you’ll find many more S-songs on these TouTube pages.
    Sing along.

Leave a Reply

